Skip to content Skip to footer

David Rubinstein Lectureship


David Rubinstein completed his undergraduate degree, PhD and MD degrees at McGill University in Montreal, where he later became a professor in the Department of Biochemistry (1960-1977), before accepting the Chair of Biochemistry at Dalhousie University in Halifax (1979-80).

David Rubinstein’s diverse research activities and achievements reflected his incessant intellectual curiosity and his boundless working capacity. He began his scientific career with studies on the metabolism of human erythrocytes under the able tutorship of O. F. Denstedt, his Ph.D. advisor at McGill University, followed by studies on the regulation of fatty acid metabolism in adipose tissue and lipid metabolism in the lung, as well as numerous contributions regarding the nature and physiological effects of growth hormone and prolactin in collaboration with J. C. Beck’s research group at the Royal Victoria Hospital. It was, however, his interest in the effect of carbon tetrachloride on hepatic lipid metabolism that eventually led him into the area of lipid transport and lipoproteins. As an already experienced and accomplished investigator when embarking on this new course of inquiry in the late sixties, Rubinstein found in the complexity of plasma lipoproteins a new challenge and stimulus for his scientific instinct and curiosity and devoted the rest of his life to a systematic exploration of the metabolic aspects of this system. By following his own instinct and intuition, undisturbed by vagaries and fashions of the times, by willingly taking a road “less traveled by,” Rubinstein brought fresh ideas, revealed new facts, and contributed significantly to present views about the formation and degradation of lipoproteins.
1Adapted with permission from P Alaupovic (1981) Can J Biochem 59: 565-579
© Canadian Science Publishing or its licensors

  • 2021 postponed to 2022
  • 2020 Karin Bornfeldt
  • 2019 Karen Reue
  • 2018 Edward Fisher
  • 2017 Kathryn Moore
  • 2016 Ira J. Goldberg
  • 2015 Jay Horton
  • 2014 Clay Semenkovich
  • 2013 Yves Marcel
  • 2012 Helen Hobbs
  • 2011 Joachim Herz
  • 2010 Monty Krieger
  • 2009 Jake Lusis
  • 2008 Karl Weisgraber
  • 2007 Michael Jensen
  • 2006 Peter Edwards
  • 2005 Ira Tabas
  • 2004 Robert Farese Jr.
  • 2003 Daniel Rader
  • 2002 Jay Heinecke
  • 2001 Donald Small
  • 2000 John Brunzell
  • 1999 Gerd Assmann
  • 1998 Alan Daugherty
  • 1997 Karl Weisgraber
  • 1996 Henry Ginsberg
  • 1995 Alan Attie
  • 1994 Alan Tall
  • 1993 John Oram
  • 1992 Christopher Fielding
  • 1991 Yves Marcel
  • 1990 Alan Fogelman
  • 1989 Godfrey Getz
  • 1988 Richard Havel
  • 1987 Daniel Steinberg
  • 1986 Julian Marsh
  • 1985 Carl Breckenridge
  • 1984 Lawrence Rudel
  • 1983 Robert Mahley
  • 1982 Ernst Schaefer
  • 1981 Donald Zilversmit
  • 1980 Petar Alaupovic

Simon-Pierre Noël Lectureship


Simon-Pierre Noël, a native of Quebec, received his undergraduate education in Biochemistry at the University of Montreal in 1971. First introduced to the lipoprotein field by his brother, a cardiologist, Simon-Pierre was a summer student in the lab of Yves Marcel at the Clinical Research Institute of Montreal, who encouraged him to continue in the field and do a PhD in Biochemistry under the supervision of David Rubinstein, then, professor of Biochemistry at McGill University, whom he had met at CLC meetings. His thesis described the catabolism of lipoproteins in the perfused liver. During his studies he became friends with Peter Dolphin, who was a postdoctoral fellow in David’s lab. After graduating, Simon-Pierre was awarded a fellowship by the Medical Research Council of Canada to do his postdoctoral training in the lab of Richard Havel, Director of the Cardiovascular Research Institute at the University of California at San Francisco.

Simon-Pierre returned to Montreal in 1979 and was appointed assistant professor in Biochemistry at the University of Montreal. He continued to work on the hepatic catabolism of lipoproteins and contributed to the training of young scientists, including Louise Brissette and Paul Roach. Simon-Pierre was recognized for his work on lipoprotein metabolism and for his support and mentoring of students. While coaching them in science, he would also introduce them to the cuisine of different countries, his personal hobby. Simon-Pierre was quiet and poised by nature, but at the CLC, he would engage in passionate scientific debates, that often ended in the bar in the company of Peter Dolphin and others. Simon-Pierre died on the 5th of February 1987 after a short illness. The Simon-Pierre Noel Memorial Lecture was instituted by the CLC membership to commemorate his contributions to lipoprotein science and to the Canadian Lipoprotein Conference. His named lectureship is awarded to emerging scientists , who like him are becoming recognized for their scientific discoveries, as well as to established scientists recognized for the importance of their work.

  • 2021 postponed to 2022
  • 2020 Vincent Poitout
  • 2019 Gordon Francis
  • 2018 Barbara Karten
  • 2017 Marica Bakovic
  • 2016 Roger S. McLeod
  • 2015 Tony Lam
  • 2014 Spencer Proctor
  • 2013 Nabil Seidah
  • 2012 Cheryl Wellington
  • 2011 Bernardo Trigatti
  • 2010 Richard Lehne
  • 2009 Benoît Lamarche
  • 2008 Michael Oda
  • 2007 André Marette
  • 2006 David Severson
  • 2005 Michael Hayden
  • 2004 Yves Deshaies
  • 2003 Jean Vance
  • 2002 Neale Ridgway
  • 2001 Khosrow Adeli
  • 2000 Dennis Vance
  • 1999 Jean-Pierre Deprés
  • 1998 Urs Steinbrecher
  • 1997 Marlys Koschinsky
  • 1996 Katherine Cianflone
  • 1995 Zemin Yao
  • 1994 Ladislav Dory
  • 1993 Robert Hegele
  • 1992 Murray Huff
  • 1991 Robert Ryan

Physician Scientist Lectureship

  • 2021 postponed to 2022
  • 2020 Sophie Bernard
  • 2019 Paolo Raggi
  • 2018 Minna Woo
  • 2017 Katherine Morrison
  • 2016 Patrick Couture, Laval University
  • 2015 Andre Carpentier, Montreal Diabetes Research Centre
  • 2014 André Carpentier
  • 2013 T.C. Ooi
  • 2011 Gary Lewis
  • 2010 Ruth McPherson
  • 2009 Gordon Francis & Eva Lonn
  • 2008 David Lau
  • 2007 Alan Sniderman
  • 2004 Norman Wong
  • 2003 Jacques Genest
  • 2002 Gary Lewis & Robert Hegele
  • 2001 Jiri Frohlich